Travel Desk
Visitor Information

  •   Currency
    The Malaysian currency is Ringgit Malaysia (RM) which comes in notes and coins. Major currencies can be exchanged at most hotels, banks and licenced money changers. One Ringgit Malaysia is approximately USD 0.23

  •   Time Zone
    Kuala Lumpur operates on Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) + 8 hours.

  •   Weather
    Malaysia’s year-round tropical weather has sunny days with occasional rainfall and the average temperature ranges from 22°C to 32°C.

  •   Attire
    Business attire is most appropriate for attending conference and business functions. For sightseeing or shopping, light cotton clothing is advised. Most malls and restaurants are air-conditioned.

  •   Electricity
    220–240V AC at 50 cycles per second. Standard UK-type three pin plugs are used.

  •   Water
    Bottled mineral water is easily available in shops, restaurants and supermarkets.

  •   Access by Air
    Getting to Malaysia is easy with over 40 airlines, including Malaysia national carrier - Malaysia Airlines. Malaysia primary gateway is the state-of-the-art Kuala Lumpur International Airport (KLIA). Visitors can take flights from KLIA to all major cities and towns in the Peninsula as well as Sabah and Sarawak. The national budget airline is AirAsia – which flies the domestic routes as well as some international and Asian routes.


Kementerian Pendidikan Tinggi
International Federation of Engineering Education Societies
Society of Engineering Education Malaysia
Universiti Teknologi Malaysia

Supported By

Malaysia Council of Engineering Deans                Malaysia Ministry of Tourism And Culture                Malaysia Convention & Exhibition Bureau                Malaysia Truly Asia

Silver Sponsor

Associate Sponsor

Dassault Systemes
Math Works         EMGS         MMC Corporation Berhad

Technical Co-Sponsor

Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers



Universiti Teknologi Petronas
Philippine Association of Engineering Schools       Universitas Indonesia       Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia       Universiti Sains Malaysia       Universiti Teknologi Mara       Universiti Tun Hussein Onn Malaysia